TreeLSTM -- nodes' hidden representations

Hello, I’m new to DGL, but your efforts look great!

I’m interested in using your TreeLSTM code on dependency parse trees (i.e., the child-sum variant of TreeLSTMs). After training on the trees, I’d merely like to get the hidden layer representations from various (or all) nodes in the tree. What’s the easiest way to do this? (I’m new to PyTorch, so I apologize).

Thanks!

Thank you for the kind words.

In dgl, to fetch the node features for some nodes, see the example below:

import dgl
import torch

g = dgl.DGLGraph()
g.add_nodes(4)
g.ndata['h'] = torch.tensor([[0.], [1.], [2.], [3.]])
# To fetch the feature h of all nodes
g.ndata['h']
# To fetch the feature h of a subset of nodes 0, 2, 3
g.nodes[0, 2, 3].data['h']

If you want to preserve some intermediary representations, you can simply store them in the data frames and make sure that they are not overwritten. Taking the TreeLSTM tutorial as an example, the TreeLSTMCell is given below:

class TreeLSTMCell(nn.Module):
    def __init__(self, x_size, h_size):
        super(TreeLSTMCell, self).__init__()
        self.W_iou = nn.Linear(x_size, 3 * h_size, bias=False)
        self.U_iou = nn.Linear(2 * h_size, 3 * h_size, bias=False)
        self.b_iou = nn.Parameter(th.zeros(1, 3 * h_size))
        self.U_f = nn.Linear(2 * h_size, 2 * h_size)

def message_func(self, edges):
        return {'h': edges.src['h'], 'c': edges.src['c']}

def reduce_func(self, nodes):
        # concatenate h_jl for equation (1), (2), (3), (4)
        h_cat = nodes.mailbox['h'].view(nodes.mailbox['h'].size(0), -1)
        # equation (2)
        f = th.sigmoid(self.U_f(h_cat)).view(*nodes.mailbox['h'].size())
        # second term of equation (5)
        c = th.sum(f * nodes.mailbox['c'], 1)
        return {'iou': self.U_iou(h_cat), 'c': c}

def apply_node_func(self, nodes):
        # equation (1), (3), (4)
        iou = nodes.data['iou'] + self.b_iou
        i, o, u = th.chunk(iou, 3, 1)