Training a Heterogenous Graph having different node feature lengths

Hey,
I am very new to handling heterographs. However, I have created a heterograph with node types A,B,C,and D.
The feature-length of A is is 416, the feature-length of B is 21, C is 811 and D is 162. I have binary labels for node A. A is related to B,C and D and has a self loop for each node in A. Ideally, I want to do a supervised node classification where I want to correctly predict the labels of A.
All the examples I have seen over here seem to consider the number of features for each node type to be equal (https://docs.dgl.ai/en/0.6.x/guide/training-node.html) and (https://docs.dgl.ai/guide/training.html).
How would I replicate what is being done in these examples for different node feature lengths? I’ll be really grateful if you help me with this.

1 Like

Not sure if this is possible with what’s implemented in DGL. In Section 2.1 of RGCN paper,

h_{i}^{(l+1)} = \sigma(\sum_{r \in \mathcal{R}} \sum_{j \in \mathcal{N}_i^r} \frac{1}{c_{i,r}} W_r^{(l)}h_j^{(l)} + W_0^{(l)}h_i^{(l)})

This assumes that h_j^{(l)} and h_i^{(l)} have the same dimension. You could introduce a new parameter W'_r \in \mathbb{R}^{a_r \times b}, where h_j^{(l)} \in \mathbb{R}^{a_r} and h_i^{(l)} \in \mathbb{R}^{b}. And compute hidden dimension with

h_{i}^{(l+1)} = \sigma(\sum_{r \in \mathcal{R}} \sum_{j \in \mathcal{N}_i^r} \frac{1}{c_{i,r}} W_r^{(l)}h_j^{(l)}W'_r + W_0^{(l)}h_i^{(l)})

1 Like

You can use a linear layer to project the features of each node type so that they have the same length at the beginning. You may find TypedLinear helpful.

1 Like

Hey, so I am trying to use TypedLinear on my feature. An example of my feature data is as follows:
It is a 4055*416 tensor. So, my code was, as follows:

m = TypedLinear(416, 20, 5)
x_type = torch.randint(0, 5, (4055,))
y = m(G.nodes['node'].data['feature'],x_type)

I got the following error: