Is DGL compatible with DDP (Distributed Data Parallel)?

Hi,

I am new to using GNNs. I already have a working code base with DDP and was hoping I could re-use it. I was wondering

1. if DGL was compatible with pytroch’s DDP (Distributed Data Parallel).
  2. if it was better to use DGL’s native distributed API? (e.g. if there is something subtle I should know before trying to mix pytorch’s DDP and dgl but instead there is a good reason to use DGL’s distributed code)
  3. is there any example code for DGL + DDP?

Thanks for the feedback!

this code uses DDP: Chapter 7: Distributed Training — DGL 0.6.1 documentation

import dgl
import torch as th

dgl.distributed.initialize('ip_config.txt')
th.distributed.init_process_group(backend='gloo')
g = dgl.distributed.DistGraph('graph_name', 'part_config.json')
pb = g.get_partition_book()
train_nid = dgl.distributed.node_split(g.ndata['train_mask'], pb, force_even=True)

# Create sampler
sampler = NeighborSampler(g, [10,25],
                          dgl.distributed.sample_neighbors,
                          device)

dataloader = DistDataLoader(
    dataset=train_nid.numpy(),
    batch_size=batch_size,
    collate_fn=sampler.sample_blocks,
    shuffle=True,
    drop_last=False)

# Define model and optimizer
model = SAGE(in_feats, num_hidden, n_classes, num_layers, F.relu, dropout)
model = th.nn.parallel.DistributedDataParallel(model)
loss_fcn = nn.CrossEntropyLoss()
optimizer = optim.Adam(model.parameters(), lr=args.lr)

# training loop
for epoch in range(args.num_epochs):
    for step, blocks in enumerate(dataloader):
        batch_inputs, batch_labels = load_subtensor(g, blocks[0].srcdata[dgl.NID],
                                                    blocks[-1].dstdata[dgl.NID])
        batch_pred = model(blocks, batch_inputs)
        loss = loss_fcn(batch_pred, batch_labels)
        optimizer.zero_grad()
        loss.backward()
        optimizer.step()

from link

As far as I know,