How to extract embedding from unsupervised GraphSage model?

Hello, I’m new to DGL.

I ran the unsupervised GraphSage implementation and I wanted to extract the the hidden representations after the last epoch.

Is there any code example to extract hidden representations for each input node? (I’m new to PyTorch >_<).

Thanks!

1 Like

I think you just need to take the output of the inference layer here. To save pytorch tensors, this post might help.

Your answer is incredibly helpful! Thx!

Hello Mufei,

If I want to extract graph embeddings from a GAT or. a GIN network, is it the same process? i.e., use output of the inference layer?
I’m getting
" if len(g.ntypes) > 1:
AttributeError: ‘DGLGraph’ object has no attribute ‘ntypes’ ".

Here’s the inference layer I’m trying to use in GAT:

def inference(self, g, x, batch_size, device):
        nodes = torch.arange(g.number_of_nodes())
        for l, layer in enumerate(self.gat_layers):
            y = torch.zeros(g.number_of_nodes(), self.num_hidden if l != len(self.gat_layers) - 1 else num_classes)
            for start in tqdm.trange(0, len(nodes), batch_size):
                end = start + batch_size
                batch_nodes = nodes[start:end]
                block = dgl.to_block(dgl.in_subgraph(g, batch_nodes), batch_nodes)
                input_nodes = block.srcdata[dgl.NID]
                h = x[input_nodes].to(device)
                h_dst = h[:block.number_of_dst_nodes()]
                h = layer(block, (h, h_dst))
                if l != len(self.layers) - 1:
                    h = self.activation(h)
                    h = self.dropout(h)
                y[start:end] = h.cpu()
            x = y
        return y

Thanks so much in advance.

Yes, the process will be similar.