How to classify entire graphs in batches?

Hey,

I would like to use DGL to classify graphs that represent the structure of diagrams in science textbooks available in the AI2D Dataset.

Note that each diagram belongs to one of 17 categories, and I would like to classify entire diagrams.

I’m new to graph convolutional networks, but so far I have managed to create a PyTorch DataLoader that provides me with 1. A BatchedDGLGraph object with graphs for each diagram in the batch and 2. A list of integers representing the respective classes of each diagram in the batch.

For features, each node contains the coordinates of its bounding box in the diagram.

How should I modify the vanilla GCN described in the tutorial to classify entire diagrams and process them in batches?

Thanks in advance for help & many thanks for a great library! If I get this to work, perhaps it could make an interesting tutorial for the documentation?

1 Like

A good reference Relational inductive biases, deep learning, and graph networks. Basically, to classify a whole graph, you need to summarize the node and edge hidden states (e.g. averaging, max pooling, etc) to yield the global state of the graph.

1 Like

Hi,

It’s a really interesting task !! Definitely worth a tutorial or blog (we could discuss how to go through the process later).

You’ve already had a good start in creating a data loader that produces BatchedDGLGraph. You can treat the BatchedDGLGraph as a single graph with multiple connected components (each is one diagram in the batch), so running GCN on the BatchedDGLGraph is the same as running GCN on each diagram in parallel. GCN will produce some embeddings (or representations) for each node. To classify the entire graph, you need to convert them to graph (or global) representation. There are a couple of ways to do so: